West Orange Chamber of Commerce Facilitating Opportunity
West Orange Chamber of Commerce Facilitating Opportunity
West Orange Chamber of Commerce Facilitating Opportunity

WOPA Endorsements

Home » Programs » Advocacy » WOPA Endorsements

The following candidates and positions have been endorsed by the West Orange Political Alliance following a series of interviews for each contest. Keep up with the latest endorsements and WOPA news at our Facebook page.

WOPA Endorses Office More Info Website

Bruce Antone

Florida House of Representatives, District 46

Antone is the incumbent candidate, having served in the Florida House of Representatives since 2012, and also from 2002-2006. He has also served on the Orange County Planning and Zoning Commission and as a legislative aide to then State Senator Buddy Dyer.


Jerry Demings
Orange County Mayor Demings became the City of Orlando's first African-American Chief of Police in 1998, and has served as Orange County Sheriff since 2008, winning re-election bids in 2012 and 2016. Website

John Mina
Orange County Sheriff Mina has spent nearly 27 years as a law enforcement officer with the Orlando Police Department and was appointed Chief of Police in 2014. Website

Mayra Uribe

Orange Co. Commission, District 3 Born and raised in the district, Uribe served for nearly eight years as an aide to U.S. Senator Bill Nelson, where she helped Florida citizens with issues dealing with military, FEMA, transportation and labor issues. Website

Susan Makowski

Orange Co. Commission, District 4 Makowski has served 7 years as the chief administrative aide to current District 4 Commissioner Jennifer Thompson. In this role, she managed complex land use issues, served as the main contact for ongoing constituent concerns and handled dozens of special projects relating to the environment, education, transportation housing, public safety and more. Website

Victoria Siplin
Orange Co. Commission, District 6 Siplin is seeking re-election as the incumbent Commissioner of the district, a position she has held since 2014. Siplin was appointed Vice-Mayor for 2017 by the Orange County Board of Commissioners. Website

Teresa Jacobs
Orange County School Board Chair In her two terms on the County Commission and as County Mayor, Jacobs passed ethics reforms, demanded that the public be able to speak up at Commission meetings, championed school and road concurrency reforms, and voted against property-tax increases. Her charter amendments for both school overcrowding and ethics reform passed overwhelmingly at the ballot box. Website

Angie Gallo
Orange County School Board, District 1 Gallo has been an advocate for education for over 15 years. She served on multiple committees and held many leadership positions with the Parent Teacher Association (PTA), the School Advisory Committee (SAC), and she is a graduate of the Inaugural Class of OCPS Leadership Orange. Website

Chadwick Hardee
Orange County School Board, District 2 Hardee, a local business leader, is a graduate of Coastal Carolina University with a BA in Political Science. Examples of his leadership include, but are not limited to, earning three AAA Five Diamond Awards with different Ritz Carlton Hotels and has been an executive for other strong brands such as Hilton, Waldorf Astoria, Wyndham and Hyatt. Website

Linda Kobert
Orange County School Board, District 3 Kobert is the incumbent Orange County School Board member for District 3. She serves as chairman of the Central Florida School Boards Association and vice chair of the Orange County School Board, and also sits on the Board of Directors of the state-wide Florida School Board Association. Website

Eric Schwalbach

Orange County School Board, District 7 Schwalbach brings 22 years of classroom experience, having attended and/or worked at over 15 area schools. He has worked and coached with students of all socioeconomic status at the elementary, middle, and high school levels. Website

Jeff Ashton
Circuit Court Judge, Group 15 Ashton served as State Attorney from 2013-2017 and has practiced law in Florida for nearly three decades. Website

Tom Young
Circuit Court Judge, Group 26 Young is one of only 181 Florida Bar board-certified appellate lawyers, and has 28 years of experience in state and federal trial and appellate courts. Website

Dean Mosley
Circuit Court Judge, Group 41 Mosley has amassed 32 years of legal experience and knowledge, encompassing criminal defense, civil litigation, juvenile, business, and probate matters. Website

Adam McGinnis
Orange County Judge, Group 11 McGinnis has served Orange County since 2012. Prior to his initial election, he became a Florida Supreme Court Certified County Mediator and was an Adjunct Professor at Valencia Community College teaching Business Law and Business Organizations.  Website

Amy Carter
Orange County Judge, Group 14 Carter desires to continue her service to the Central Florida community following nearly ten years as both a civil and criminal trial attorney. Website