West Orange Chamber of Commerce Facilitating Opportunity
West Orange Chamber of Commerce Facilitating Opportunity
West Orange Chamber of Commerce Facilitating Opportunity

Home » About West Orange Chamber » Blog and News » Florida Chamber Announces Speaker Steve Crisafulli as 2016 Most Valuable Legislator

Tue, April 26, 2016

Florida Chamber Announces Speaker Steve Crisafulli as 2016 Most Valuable Legislator

comments | Read Comments

Article courtesy of the Florida Chamber of Commerce.

The Florida Chamber of Commerce recently released its annual publication How They Voted, and announced House Speaker Steve Crisafulli as the 2016 Most Valuable Legislator.

“While others talk about Florida’s long-term future, Speaker Crisafulli actively charges forward toward what is right for our state and knows firsthand the importance of fighting for free-enterprise principles,” said David Hart, Executive Vice President of the Florida Chamber of Commerce. “His dedication to seeing beyond short-sighted political platforms and his willingness to pass bipartisan efforts has made all the difference for our state.”

Speaker Crisafulli, who has previously earned the Florida Chamber’s Distinguished Advocate award and has consistently been ranked an “A” grade legislator, has been a leading legislative champion for securing Florida’s water future. Additionally, he championed House efforts to reform Florida’s archaic and unsustainable pension system, and continued to support Florida’s families and businesses by passing a $1 billion tax cut package in the House this session.

“The Florida Chamber has been an important ally in our efforts to secure Florida’s future during my two years as Speaker,” said House Speaker Steve Crisafulli. “I am honored to have had the opportunity to work closely with their members and staff in the push for a better business climate, regulatory reform and comprehensive water solutions. Fighting for our state’s long-term interest isn’t always popular or easy and it’s not a task that can be done alone. Thanks to the Florida Chamber’s commitment to the free enterprise principles that make our state the best state in the nation, I believe we moved Florida forward to a brighter future.”

Each year, the Florida Chamber honors one legislator as a Most Valuable Legislator, for their courage to champion business issues. Although in the 2015 regular and special sessions, no comparable champion emerged, we honor the 11 years of steadfast leaders who stood firm against special interest agendas and fought for Florida’s business community on the issues that will help secure Florida’s future. Those include:

House Speaker Steve Crisafulli (2016)
House Speaker Will Weatherford (2014)
Representative Larry Metz (2013)
House Speaker Dean Cannon (2012)
Senator Ellyn Bogdanoff (2011)
Senator John Thrasher (2010)
Senator Garrett Richter (2009)
Representative Dennis Ross (2008)
Representative Stan Mayfield (2007)
Representative Don Brown (2006)
House Speaker Allan Bense (2005)

The Florida Chamber’s annual How They Voted identifies where legislators stood on the Florida Chamber’s 2016 business agenda. How They Voted provides the composite grades for all 160 legislators so business leaders and families can see who voted for or against job creation and economic opportunity in Florida, as well as what Florida Business Agenda issues did or didn’t pass during the 2016 legislative session.

Just two weeks ago, the Florida Chamber also released its Legislative Report Card, highlighting actual grades earned by each legislator and honoring 14 legislators who earned the Florida Chamber of Commerce’s Distinguished Advocate award for championing pro-jobs, pro-business legislation.


Download How They Voted Now

Click here to download your PDF copy of How They Voted.

File under: Government Policy

Back to Top


Leave a Comment