As we know, Independence Day, the official holiday name for what is commonly known as July 4th, commemorates the passage of the Deceleration of Independence by the Continental Congress on July 4, 1776. This historic event led to many more at a time when our Country was in great turmoil. It would be July 8, 1776 when the first Independence Day celebration took place in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. And, June 28, 1870 Congress made Independence Day an official holiday for federal employees working in Washington, DC. Congress then formalized the holiday as a federal holiday in 1938.

Out of that historic period, the Constitution was born and Congress established. The highest form of law in the United States, the Constitution is the bases for our current federal government. This document became the basis for not only protecting citizens of the United States, but also their basic rights. With the aim of creating a powerful government to run the country, it does not allow for the imposition of people’s or state’s rights.  The constitution ensures the Balance of Power between the three branches of the government.

Constitution Day, also known as Citizenship Day is recognized and observed on September 17th, the day the Constitution was adopted and also the day many became US citizens. It represents the day delegates signed the document into law in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania in 1787.

But, how many of us do understand or can identify the three branches of government? Who does what? Many can identify the branches – Executive, Legislative and Judicial. But do you really understand the functions of each, and how the individuals working in these branches affect your everyday life? In celebration of Constitution Day, check out this quick guide to how the government is set up both locally and federally.

A Quick Guide to Government: Who Does What The Federal Government: Constitutional Checks and Balances The Constitution provides for a separation of powers